2008-05-31 / Top News

Local Candidates Announced for August Primary Election

By Karen Gould

Local candidates have filed petitions and are launching their campaigns for county positions that will be on the August 5 primary ballot. Over the next 10 weeks, voters will evaluate candidate qualities, experience, leadership abilities, and views on issues.

By state law, voting in the primary requires voters to cast their ballot for only one political party. At the polls, voters must specify which party's ballot they wish to vote, either Republican or Democrat. By selecting a party ballot, a registered voter does not have to be a member of the party, nor does choosing a party ballot make the voter a registered member of that party.

The last day to register to vote in the primary is July 7.

Candidates without political party affiliation have until 4 p.m. July 17 to file a petition to be on the November 4 general election ballot. The Mackinac County Clerk's office and township clerks report that the following partisan candidates have met the filing deadline of May 13 and will be on the August 5 primary ballot.

County-wide Three Democratic incumbeauty bents on the county commission are running unopposed, including Carl Frazier in District 1, Larry Leveille in District 2, and Calvin McPhee in District 5. In District 3, Democrat incumbent Dawn Nelson will face off against Democrat Fred Paquin. In District 4, Republican incumbent Mike Patrick is challenged by Democrat James Farero.

County Prosecutor Fred Feleppa, a Republican, is running unopposed for a four-year term. Also unopposed on the August ballot are Republican candidates Clerk Mary Kay Tamlyn and Republican Sheriff Scott Strait. In the Register of Deeds office, Republican incumbent Diane Frankovich is challenged by Democrat Bambi Robinson. The seats are fouryear terms.

In the treasurer's office, five candidates are seeking the fouryear position. Democratic candidates include incumbent Nora Massey, Jerry Murray, and Patrick Fenlon. Republican candidates are Robert Winkelman and Leroy Pieri.

With one opening, five candidates will vie for a six-year seat on the road commission. Candidates include Republicans Richard Oliver, Frank Harness, Tom Doty, and Robert Smith, and Democrat Joseph Durm.

Incumbent Beth Ann Gibson will face Thomas North for the post of 92nd District Court judge, serving Mackinac and Luce counties. The nonpartisan position is for a six-year term.

Republican incumbent Jeffrey Davis and Democrat Neil Hill Sr. will run for the position of county surveyor.

City of Mackinac Island

The election for city officials was held May 6, with all incumbents re-elected. A recount for one alderman seat is scheduled for May 22. Incumbent Jason St. Onge received two more votes than challenger Anneke Myers.

Voting requirements

Voters also need to meet Michigan's voter identification requirement. Presenting photo identification is required in order to vote. If a voter does not bring a Michigan driver's license or personal identification card, then to obtain an ballot, the voter is required to sign an affidavit stating they do not have identification.

Those voters using an absentee ballot must submit it by August 2 at 2 p.m. The ballot needs to be submitted to the clerk of the township or city where the voter is registered.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2008-05-31 digital edition