2008-08-16 / Top News

August 5 Primary Election Results

Democrat Nora Massey will face Republican challenger Rob Winkelman for Mackinac County treasurer in the November 4 general election, following a primary runoff Tuesday, August 5.

In a second highly contested primary race Tuesday, August 5, voters determined newcomers Republican Tom Doty and Democrat Dick Oliver will compete for a position on the road commission in November.

Ms. Massey received 797 votes county-wide to beat out two other Democrats in the primary, Jerry Murray (204 votes) and Patrick Fenlon (66 votes). Mr. Murray, with family ties to Mackinac Island, won here, receiving 51 votes to Ms. Mas- sey's 37 votes and Mr. Fenlon's 7 votes.

On the Republican side, Mr. Winkelman received 606 votes (22 on the Island) and Leroy Pieri of Cedarville received 493 (2 on the Island).

Dick Oliver, who worked for Harry Ryba on Mackinac Island for years, received 540 votes county-wide and 30 on Mackinac Island to defeat Joe Durm, who received 360 county votes and 24 Island votes. On the Republican side of the ballot, Mr. Doty captured 457 county votes and 2 Island votes, Frank Harness received 288 county votes and 2 Island votes, and Robert Smith got 250 county votes and 8 Island votes.

About 18% or 120 of Mackinac Island registered voters went to the polls, 95 of them voting on the Democratic side. The statwide turnout was 19%, and Mackinac County saw a 26% turnout. Michigan has 7.2 million voters, Mackinac County has about 9,482, and Mackinac Island has 649.

Voting along party lines is a primary election requirement that township and city clerks say kept some voters away from the polls August 5.

Incumbent Democrat U.S. Congressman Bart Stupak of the 1st District will face Republican Tom Casperson in November. Mr. Casperson beat out Republicans Linda Goldthorpe and Dan Hooper in the primary for a chance to vie for the two-year seat. On Mackinac Island, Mr. Stupak received 90 votes, while Mr. Casperson got 14, Ms. Goldthorpe got 7, and Mr. Hooper got 4.

Incumbent Democrat State Representative Gary McDowell from the 107th District will again face off against Republican Alex Strobehn for the two-year seat. Neither candidate faced party opposition in the primary. Mr. McDowell received 77 votes on Mackinac Island, Mr. Strobehn received 22.

For the six-year seat in the U.S. Senate incumbent Democrat Carl Levin (87 Mackinac Island votes) again will face Republican Jack Hoogendyk, Jr. (23 votes). Neither candidate faced party opposition in the primary.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2008-08-16 digital edition