2018-05-12 / News

Sault Tribe Primary Elections Begin; Completed Ballots Due Back May 24

By Erich T. Doerr

The Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians 2018 Board of Directors election is underway as the tribe mailed out ballots to all of its registered voters taking part in its primary election Thursday, May 3. Ballots must be completed and returned to the tribe by Thursday, May 24. Once the results of the primary election are in, the ballots for the general election will be mailed out Thursday, June 7. The Tribal Election Committee released the list of qualified candidates Thursday, April 26.

The Sault Tribe’s Board of Directors includes 12 representatives and Chairperson Aaron Payment. The chair position is not up for election this year. The tribal board election is divided into five units based on location and population. Unit I has five members on the board, while Units II, III, and IV each have two, and Unit V has one. The tribal elections are staggered, with two seats open this year in Unit I and one seat available in each of the other four units. Only Unit I and Unit III have enough candidates that they are holding primary elections this year.

This year’s Unit III primary election will pit the incumbent Keith Massaway against chal- lengers Geraldine Brow, William “Ralph” Colegrove, and Thomas Paquin. The two highest vote getters will advance to run against each other in the general election. The voting area for Unit III includes St. Ignace, Mackinac Island, Brevort, Moran, and Point Aux Pins.

The Unit I primary election will incumbents Kim Gravelle and D.J. Hoffman running against challengers Nichole Causley, Charles Cook, Sr., Betty Freiheit, George Parish, and Beverly Goetz-MacLaren. The top four vote getters will move on to the general election. The voting area for Unit 1 includes Sault Ste. Marie, Kincheloe, Kinross, Brimley, Bay Mills, Sugar Island, Paradise, Raco, Neebish Island, Barbeau, Dafter, Eckerman, Hulbert, and Strongs.

When the general election ballots are mailed out, the election in Unit II will see incumbent Catherine Hollowell running against Paul Barbeaux. The voting area for Unit II includes Cedarville, Hessel, Rudyard, Pickford, Engadine, Naubinway, DeTour Village, Curtis, Epoufette, Goetzville, Stalwart, Rexton, Gould City, Germfask, Trout Lake, Fibre, Gulliver, McMillan, and Newberry.

The general election in Unit IV will see incumbent Denise Chase running against Lacey Kinnart. The voting area for Unit IV includes Manistique, Escanaba, Negaunee, Gladstone, Bark River, Gwinn, Ishpeming, Trenary, the former K.I. Sawyer Air Force Base, Rapid River, Brampton, Champion, Cooks, Cornell, Fayette, Garden, Limestone, Little Lake, Nahma, Northland, Perkins, Princeton, Republic, Rock, Skandia, Thompson, Traunik, and Wells.

The Unit V general election will see challengers Tyler LaPlaunt and Charles Matson, Sr. running against each other. Incumbent Unit V Director Anita Nelson chose not to seek reelection. The Unit V voting area includes Marquette, Christmas, Munising, Seney, Forrest Lake, Grand Marais, Eben Junction, Arnold, Autrain, Beaver Grove, Big Bay, Chatham, Deerton, Harvey, Michigamme, Palmer, Rumley, Shingleton, and Wetmore.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2018-05-12 digital edition